AltSounds Official Seal Of Approval, Tastemaker Recommended

Chatelaine Invites You to Take A Line For A Walk - New CD from the voice of Curve

Chatelaine Invites You to Take A Line For A Walk - New CD from the voice of Curve

News   3424 Views

Just a quick note to let you know that Toni Halliday of 90's shoegaze pioneers Curve has a new project called Chatelaine. We have preview streams and downloads to the new album, Take a Line for a Walk, set aside for a small batch of fans and music lovers. Toni put a lot of love and work into these songs over a few years. We think it was worth the wait. And we are eager to hear your feedback.

As Chatelaine, Halliday is as bewitching as Tori Amos and as glam as Goldfrapp. Co-written with Louise Dowd over a three-year period and mixed with help from Alan Moulder, the album Take a Line for a Walk unflinchingly exposes Halliday's soul and imagination to unconventional instrumentation, meshing ethereal beats and diaphanous harmonies. Echoes of mystical troubadours Brian Wilson, David Crosby, Neil Young, Mark Hollis ripple through thickets of clicks and strings. It also includes remixes of "Broken Bones" by chillwave darling Kurt Feldmen (Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Depreciation Guild) and legendary new wave producer Flood.

Their respective versions of "Broken Bones" showcase Halliday's ability to merge her experience as a rock n roll songwriter with an indie-pop sensibility. Like Cortney Tidwell transformed by Ewan Pearson, Dot Allison electro-fied by Keith Tenniswood, and Tracey Thorn amplified by every knob jockey in the game, Chatelaine's pairing with Feldman and Flood infuses electronica with visceral melodics reminiscent of Halliday's dark groove peers Massive Attack, Portishead, My Bloody Valentine. Rough-hewn, lived-in and yet dreamy, Halliday's lyricism retains the acoustic urgency of pagan chants filtered for a futuristic generation.

When Madonna teamed up with William Orbit for Ray of Light, music lovers held their collective breath in anticipation of the ultimate pop breakthrough - an electronic album with commercial appeal and creative personal depth. Chatelaine's Take a Line for a Walk, comes closer to fulfilling the promise of an album that is intimate, experimental, radio-friendly and critically sound.

We are happy to offer you a free mp3 and invite you to stream the album at

1. Broken Bones
2. Oh Daddy
3. Life Remains
4. Stripped Out
5. Shifting Sands
6. Killing the Feeling
7. Take a Line for a Walk
8. Head To Head
9. Seen and Lost
10. Broken Bones (Depreciation Guild Remix)
11. Broken Bones (Flood Remix)

"Listen to it talk." Chatelaine Music

Social Love:

You Might Also Dig...

Have Your Say

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO