Joyce Manor Announce New Album on Big Scary Monsters

Joyce Manor Announce New Album on Big Scary Monsters

News   1486 Views
Last Edited by: Ffion Davies April 16th, 2012.

If you’re unaware of the phenomenon that is LA’s Joyce Manor then that’s about to change. 2011 saw them blowing the minds of the US press with their self-titled debut album. For their second release, they’ve found a home in the UK with Big Scary Monsters (Tall Ships, Kevin Devine, Andrew WK, Meet Me In St Louis, Days Ago). The album will be titled ‘Of All The Things I Will Soon Grow Tired’ and will be released May 14th.

Joyce Manor are something else, and it’s clear from the first listen that what’s bubbling under the surface is soon to be a musical movement of epic proportions. Of All The Things... is 9 tracks spanned over 13 glorius minutes. Their short sharp bursts of scuzzy pop-punk are reminiscent of Weezer’s first two records, carefully balancing noisey guitars and thrashing drums with melody, crafting the songs so listeners will have no choice but to sing along, belting out vowel sounds uncontrollably.

Across the pond, people have been losing their minds. LA Weekly singled out Joyce Manor as "one of the most promising bands", while Absolutepunk hailed them by saying, "Joyce Manor have become the poster child for the young band that does everything right." Perhaps Punknews put it best and most simply though, when bestowing upon the band the honor of 2011 Album of the Year, that "Joyce Manor is everyone's favorite new artist. Those who disagree are clearly lying."

It’s true. If you don’t like it, you’re a liar.

  • 1. These Kind of Ice Skates
  • 2. Comfortable Clothes
  • 3. See How Tame I Can Be
  • 4. Drainage
  • 5. Video Killed The Radio Star
  • 6. If I Needed You There
  • 7. Bride of Usher
  • 8. Violent Inside
  • 9. I’m Always Tired

Social Love:

You Might Also Dig...

Have Your Say

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO