AltSounds Official Seal Of Approval, Tastemaker Recommended

The Limiñanas to release Costa Blanca Nov. 19 on Trouble In Mind

The Limiñanas to release Costa Blanca Nov. 19 on Trouble In Mind

Stream new song now

News   1209 Views
Last Edited by: Chris MUG5 Maguire November 13th, 2013.

The Limiñanas, the brainchild of French duo Lio and Marie Limiñana, are back on Trouble In Mind with their third album, Costa Blanca, out November 19th Once again, recorded at their home in the south of France by Lio himself, Costa Blanca pushes the envelope of their signature Franc-o-phonic sound -- the coloeur café cool of Gainsbourg, the hypnotic drone of VU-era Cale, and the spiky fuzz of Davie Allan. This time around the band incorporate avant-classical and experimental sonic elements, lacing the tunes with a dramatic flair of French new wave soundtracks and the percussive accents found in Morricone's work in Il Gruppo.

LISTEN | The Limiñanas - 'My Black Sabbath'

Melodic "jump-cuts," sonic echoes of previous tunes and future melodies, appear and disappear throughout the course of this album (and The Limiñanas' entire oeuvre). Thematically, Costa Blanca is an insular record, with subjects that reference Lio's youth growing up in Spain in the 1970's near the Mediterranean Sea and nostalgic odes to the music, films, girls, books and cars that shaped his world.

Costa Blanca Tracklist:

01. Je me souviens comme si j'y étais
02. My black Sabbath
03. Alicante
04. Votre coté yéyé m'emmerde
05. Cold Was The Ground
06. i miei occhi sono i tuoi occhi
07. La Mercedes de couleur gris métallisé
08. Rosas
09. Barrio Chino
10. BB
11. La mélancolie
12. La Mediterranée
13. Liverpool (Album version feat. MU)

The Limiñanas online:

Social Love:

You Might Also Dig...

Have Your Say

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO